Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Teen Tuesday: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


check the catalog here

Summary

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!  Considered a "new adult" book for older teens and up.  I enjoyed this novel that had a "Beauty and the Beast" theme set in a fairy world.

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Seriously Underrated Teen Titles That Everyone Should Read - according to Buzzfeed

Seriously Underrated Books Every Book Lover Should Read  - I give credit to BuzzFeed.  Use the link to see a full list of all the titles!



Check the catalog here


I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
"It is so compelling and beautifully written . It also deals with important topics, like grief, family, and LGBTQ issues."  Ashley



check the catalog here
Hate List by Jennifer Brown
"The book deals with a high school student struggling in the aftermath of a school shooting. Despite the weight of the subject matter, it’s a great read. It’s full of emotions — sad ones, happy ones, and suspenseful ones. Although Brown writes a lot of YA novels, she writes about important issues that will interest all ages."  Emily



check the catalog here
Every Day by David Levithan
"It’s an amazing read about identity and who one truly is. The main character changes bodies each day, so you never know what will happen."  Katie



check the catalog here
I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak
"Everybody knows Zusak for The Book Thief, but this novel is just as beautiful and powerful. It reminds anyone who feels stranded in their twenties that you don’t need to be famous or anything special to make a huge difference in the world. All you need to be is kind."  Jen



check the catalog here
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
"It is probably one of my all-time favorites. Taking place in a world where everyone can hear your thoughts, it’s a beautiful take on the classic coming-of-age story." Megan


These are just five on a list of 27 - and there were actually a few more Teen titles on the list, including Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (March 4, 2016 movie directed by Tim Burton), the Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty, and Private Peaceful, a historical fiction about two brothers set in WWI (that I just checked out to read!) by Michael Morpurgo (he also wrote "War Horse").











Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Hot Teen Books for June 2015




Here are a few books published in June that I am looking forward to reading!  Hope something appeals to you, too.



Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella, published June 9
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain.



The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gilbaldi, published June 16
In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.



Skyscraping by Cordelia Jensen, published June 2
Told in raw, exposed free verse, Skyscraping reminds us that there is no one way to be a family. Set in New York City, Mira tries to cope with the fall-out of her parent's "open" marriage.



The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker, published June 2
The magic and suspense of Graceling meet the political intrigue and unrest of Game of Thrones in this riveting fantasy debut.



Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway, published June 23
Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?




Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Teen Tuesday Pick: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

 
Summary
In a world divided by blood--those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities--seventeen-year-old Mare, a Red, discovers she has an ability of her own. To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. But Mare risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard --a growing Red rebellion--even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction.
My thoughts:
A Teen dystopian, that reminds me of a "Selection" on steroids. Instead of a reality show where a bride is chosen for the prince by popular vote, the daughters of the each of the houses in the land demonstrates her lethal powers to win the Prince. The world in Red Queen is divided by the color of blood - the "Reds", the poor, working class, and the "Silvers" the rich, powerful rulers. A red girl, Mare, is called to work at the castle where during the "Queens Trial" a freak accident reveals that she has a super power that is similar to the Silvers. The novel blends intrigue, romance (a classic love triangle - Mare is betrothed to one noble brother, but secretly loves another), and uprising. If you liked either The Hunger Games, the Matched Trilogy, or The Selection series, this book is for you. With the cliff hanger ending, I am sure volumes two and three are in the writing queue.

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Announcing our Teen Haiku Contest Winners!

This year over 36 haikus were entered by 13 teens in our annual Haiku Contest.  Without further ado, here are the winning entries! 


Our winner was Rowan Humphries, a senior at Aquinas Institute.  Rowan wrote about friendship:


My Faraway friend
time's swept us apart again
when will you be back?


Second place was awarded to Paul Suflita of Greece, who wrote on the topic of social justice:


The rich overlook
The multitudes of needy
Two sides of one coin


Third place winner Alissa Frame from Pittsford wrote about spring:


Deer in the forest
Graceful steps, nose in the air
Desire for loved spring


We had two honorable mention awards this year - sisters Christina and Crystal Lee of Greece. 


Christina wrote "Lions":


Large ferocious beasts
The fierce King of the Jungle
blaring mighty roars


Crystal (who was our first place winner in 2014) wrote "Wild River":


Fast rapid currents
Dancing over the rocks
Spraying in your face.



First place winner Rowan Humphries



Third place winner:  Alissa Frame



Honorable mention winners:  Crystal and Christina Lee



Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Time to Apply for a Summer Volunteer Postion!




Do you:
1.  Like working with children and families?
2.  Have basic computer skills and enjoy teaching others?
3.  Have a friendly, helpful attitude?
4.  Enjoy interacting with the public?
5.  Are you dependable, prompt, and adaptable? 
6.  Enjoy crafts and games?


If you answered yes and are between the ages of 13-19, it is time to get your applications in for a summer volunteer position at the Greece Public Library.  Access the application on our website here, or at the information desk in the library (information desk and children's desk).  Please answer each question completely and return this form to the library no later than June 8, 2015. Volunteer forms will NOT be accepted after this date. There is a mandatory volunteer meeting either Wednesday, June 10 or Thursday June 11 at 3:30 pm. You MUST attend one of these meetings in order to volunteer for the Summer Reading Program- NO exceptions!  This application is also mandatory if you are interested in becoming a volunteer for our Tech Tutor program.
Volunteering makes you feel great, is wonderful to put on your college applications, and is good to have if you want to apply for a job. 



Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Teen Tuesday: The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie


check the catalog here
Based on the wildly popular YouTube channelThe Haunting of Sunshine Girl has been described as " Gilmore Girls " meets " Paranormal Activity " for the new media age.
Shortly after her sixteenth birthday, Sunshine Griffith and her mother Kat move from sunny Austin, Texas, to the rain-drenched town of Ridgemont, Washington. Though Sunshine is adopted, she and her mother have always been close, sharing a special bond filled with laughter and inside jokes. But from the moment they arrive, Sunshine feels her world darken with an eeriness she cannot place. And even if Kat doesn’t recognize it, Sunshine knows that something about their new house is just ... creepy.

In the days that follow, things only get stranger. Sunshine is followed around the house by an icy breeze, phantom wind slams her bedroom door shut, and eventually, the laughter Sunshine hears on her first night evolves into sobs. She can hardly believe it, but as the spirits haunting her house become more frightening—and it becomes clear that Kat is in danger—Sunshine must accept what she is, pass the test before her, and save her mother from a fate worse than death.