Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Teen Tuesday: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


check the catalog here

Summary

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!  Considered a "new adult" book for older teens and up.  I enjoyed this novel that had a "Beauty and the Beast" theme set in a fairy world.

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Seriously Underrated Teen Titles That Everyone Should Read - according to Buzzfeed

Seriously Underrated Books Every Book Lover Should Read  - I give credit to BuzzFeed.  Use the link to see a full list of all the titles!



Check the catalog here


I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
"It is so compelling and beautifully written . It also deals with important topics, like grief, family, and LGBTQ issues."  Ashley



check the catalog here
Hate List by Jennifer Brown
"The book deals with a high school student struggling in the aftermath of a school shooting. Despite the weight of the subject matter, it’s a great read. It’s full of emotions — sad ones, happy ones, and suspenseful ones. Although Brown writes a lot of YA novels, she writes about important issues that will interest all ages."  Emily



check the catalog here
Every Day by David Levithan
"It’s an amazing read about identity and who one truly is. The main character changes bodies each day, so you never know what will happen."  Katie



check the catalog here
I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak
"Everybody knows Zusak for The Book Thief, but this novel is just as beautiful and powerful. It reminds anyone who feels stranded in their twenties that you don’t need to be famous or anything special to make a huge difference in the world. All you need to be is kind."  Jen



check the catalog here
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
"It is probably one of my all-time favorites. Taking place in a world where everyone can hear your thoughts, it’s a beautiful take on the classic coming-of-age story." Megan


These are just five on a list of 27 - and there were actually a few more Teen titles on the list, including Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (March 4, 2016 movie directed by Tim Burton), the Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty, and Private Peaceful, a historical fiction about two brothers set in WWI (that I just checked out to read!) by Michael Morpurgo (he also wrote "War Horse").











Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Hot Teen Books for June 2015




Here are a few books published in June that I am looking forward to reading!  Hope something appeals to you, too.



Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella, published June 9
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain.



The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gilbaldi, published June 16
In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.



Skyscraping by Cordelia Jensen, published June 2
Told in raw, exposed free verse, Skyscraping reminds us that there is no one way to be a family. Set in New York City, Mira tries to cope with the fall-out of her parent's "open" marriage.



The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker, published June 2
The magic and suspense of Graceling meet the political intrigue and unrest of Game of Thrones in this riveting fantasy debut.



Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway, published June 23
Emmy’s best friend, Oliver, reappears after being kidnapped by his father ten years ago. Emmy hopes to pick up their relationship right where it left off. Are they destined to be together? Or has fate irreparably driven them apart?