Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Teen Tuesday: The Rapture Gone Wrong

Recently, there have been two teen books that address families believing the end of the world is nigh...and what they choose to do about it. 



check the catalog here
Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And--of course--it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Abigail's parents never should have made that first donation to that end-of-times preacher. Or the next, or the next. They shouldn't have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there for the "end of the world." Because now they're living in their van. And Aaron is full of anger, disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right. But maybe it's too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss's thoughtful debut novel is about losing everything--and about what you will do for the people you love.


No Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss is a tough book to read - I read most of it.  It is difficult to watch a family fall apart, and parents not do their primary job - protect their kids.  The passages about being homeless really got to me. Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.



check the catalog here
Sixteen-year-old Vivian Apple never believed in the evangelical Church of America, unlike her recently devout parents. But when Vivian returns home the night after the supposed "Rapture," all that’s left of her parents are two holes in the roof. Suddenly, she doesn't know who or what to believe. With her best friend Harp and a mysterious ally, Peter, Vivian embarks on a desperate cross-country roadtrip through a paranoid and panic-stricken America to find answers. Because at the end of the world, Vivan Apple isn't looking for a savior. She's looking for the truth.

My thoughts:  I have not read this one yet, but the author, Katie Coyle, sums up her book in 140 characters as:  "Vivian Apple is about best friends, road trips, belief, cute boys, climate change, and a regular girl learning to tap into her inner badass!"  More books in this series are planned. 


Both these books are recommended for older teens, or more mature readers. 





No comments:

Post a Comment