Tuesday, February 10, 2015

American Library Association Award Winners for 2015

http://static1.squarespace.com/static/5074b6b1e4b01e64d212931a/50ec9c48e4b0b16f1769adf9/535d4cdbe4b0ec04b0fa38e2/1398734254230/?format=1500w


The Crossover by Kwame Alexander was the winner of the John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature. "With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he's got mad beats, too, that tell his family's story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander. Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story's heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.  Two Newbery Honor books were also named:  "El Deafo" by Cece Bell and "Brown Girl Dreaming" by Jacqueline Woodson. 

http://d.gr-assets.com/books/1392575990l/20820994.jpg
I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson was the winner of the Michael L. Printz award for excellence in literature for young adults.  A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell. 

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.
Printz Honor books were:  "And We Stay" by Jenny Hubbard, "The Carnival at Bray" by Jessie Ann Foley, "Grasshopper Jungle" by Andrew Smith, and "This One Summer" a graphic novel by Mariko Tamaki. 

No comments:

Post a Comment